Communications and Humanities

Communications is the exchange of thoughts and ideas through reading, writing, speaking and listening. In communications, we offer general education composition courses and elective courses in English, Humanities, Speech & Forensics, Foreign Language and the Fine & Performing Arts (studio art, music, theatre and dance).

Humanities is the study of the artistic and intellectual expressions of various cultures. It includes music history, art history, drama, literature, religion, and philosophy. Humanities courses can be used to fulfill general education requirements for the Associate of Arts degree. Some courses fulfill requirements for Associate of Science degrees.

Resources and Services

Special Programs

Included in the Division are the Humanities Study Abroad Program, the New York Museum trip, and the Spain Study Abroad trip. Learn more about TCC's study abroad trips and the Global Gateway Program here.

Also housed in the division are the state and national champion Forensics Speech and Debate Team and an outstanding theater program, Theatre TCC! that produces three major productions annually. The Division supports the Ralph Hurst Gallery, and the TCC Fine Art Gallery, which annually features nine different shows, including local artists, faculty and student exhibits. Learn more about arts and culture at TCC here.

Contact Us

Location:
English Building, Room 241
444 Appleyard Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32304
View the Campus Map
 
Summer Hours:
Monday-Friday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.


Contact Info:
Dr. Tracy Woodard-Meyers, Dean
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Fax: (850) 201-8044

 

Division Directory

Division Office Staff

Dr. Tracy Woodard Meyers, Dean
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Email: woodart@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Donmetrie Clark, Associate Dean
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Email: clarkdo@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Henry Thomas, Office Manager
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Email: thomash@tcc.fl.edu

Ms. Margaret D. Bronson, Staff Assistant
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Email: bronsonm@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Gregory D. Williams, Staff Assistant
Phone: (850) 201-6070
Email: williagr@tcc.fl.edu

 

English Faculty

Mr. Forster Agama
Office: EN 261
Phone: (850) 201-8058
Email: agamaf@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Daniel Beugnet
Office: EN 264
Phone: (850) 201-9667
Email: beugnetd@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Brittney Boykins
Office: EN 259
Phone: (850) 201-8776
Email: boykinsb@tcc.fl.edu

Ms. Nicolette Costantino
Office: EN 255
Phone: (850) 201-6512
Email: costantn@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Larry Crombie
Office: EN 254
Phone: (850) 201-8039
Email: crombiel@tcc.fl.edu

Ms. Meri Culp
Office: EN 262
Phone: (850) 201-8034
Email: culpm@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Gareth Euridge
Office: EN 216
Phone: (850) 201-8051
Email: euridgeg@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Lauren Fletcher
Office: CH 225
Phone: (850) 201-8724
Email: fletchel@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Reggie Grant
Office: EN 217
Phone: (850) 201-8055
Email: grantr@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Wolfgang Lepschy
Office: EN 111
Phone: (850) 201-8042
Email: lepschyw@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Jenny McHenry
Office: EN 218
Phone: (850) 201-9605
Email: mchenryj@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Bryan McLawhorn
Office: EN 214
Phone: (850) 201-8057
Email: mclawhob@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Cathryn Meyer
Office: EN 215
Phone: (850) 201-9948
Email: meyerc@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Eva Nielsen-Parks
Office: EN 211
Phone: (850) 201-9882
Email: nielsene@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Teresa Paliwoda
Office: EN 221
Phone: (850) 201-8050
Email: paliwodt@tcc.fl.edu

Ms. Brenda Reid, English Program Chair
Office: EN 263
Phone: (850) 201-8052
Email: reidb@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Donya Samara
Office: EN 213
Phone: (850) 201-8054
Email: samarad@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Kelly Thayer
Office: CH 224
Phone: (850) 201-8038
Email: thayerke@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Kenya Thompkins
Office: EN 260
Phone: (850) 201-8040
Email: thompkik@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. David Valladares
Office: CH 202
Phone: (850) 201-9876
Email: valladad@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Lu Vickers
Office: EN 219
Phone: (850) 201-8046
Email: vickerrsl@tcc.fl.edu

Humanities Faculty

Dr. Roy Barineau, Humanities Program Chair
Office: CH 277
Phone: (850) 201-8359
Email: barinear@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Aaron Brooks
Office: CH 281
Phone: (850) 201-8364
Email: brooksaa@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Sara Brown
Office: CH 280
Phone: (850) 201-9891
Email: brownsa@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Robert Fleischmann
Office: CH 184
Phone: (850) 201-8358
Email: fleischr@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Kermit Harrison
Office: CH 282
Phone: (850) 201-6047
Email: harrisok@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Fred Owens
Office: CH 279
Phone: (850) 201-8363
Email: owensf@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Elise Ray - Mohallil
Office: CH 278
Phone: (850) 201-9736
Email: raye@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Jen Robinson
Office: CH 182
Phone: (850) 201-8365
Email: robinsje@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Lindsey Smitherman-Brown
Office: CH 276
Phone: (850) 201-8035
Email: smitherl@tcc.fl.edu

 

Speech Faculty

Dr. Mike Armstrong
Office: EN 222
Phone: (850) 201-8033
Email: armstrom@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. Braze Brickwedel
Office: EN 212
Phone: (850) 201-8721
Email: brickweb@tcc.fl.edu

Mr. John Schultz, Speech & Foreign Language Program Chair
Office: EN 210
Phone: (850) 201-8037
Email: schultzj@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Sarah Smitherman
Office: EN 220
Phone: (850) 201-9872
Email: smithers@tcc.fl.edu

Art Faculty

Mrs. Julie Baroody
Office: CH 183
Phone: (850) 201-8713
Email: baroodyj@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Ljiljana Obradovic-Edmiston
Office: CH 181
Phone: (850) 201-8787
Email: edminstol@tcc.fl.edu

Foreign Language Faculty

Mrs. Sally Copps
Office: CH 209
Phone: (850) 201-8662
Email: coppss@tcc.fl.edu

Mrs. Maria Suarez
Office: SMA 238
Phone: (850) 201-8369
Email: suarezm@tcc.fl.edu

Dr. Rosalinda Wright
Office: CH 204
Phone: (850) 201-8357
Email: wrightr@tcc.fl.edu