

The Original Advisory Committee and the First District Board of Trustees

The idea to establish a two-year college in Tallahassee was first generated by a group of school administrators and concerned citizens in 1964, and by the fall of 1966, the institution then known as Tallahassee Junior College had begun offering classes. As early as the fall of 1965, an Advisory Committee provided guidance to the superintendent and the Leon County Board of Public Instruction regarding personnel, curricula, finance and the general operation of the College. Perhaps the most important of their tasks was to suggest qualifications and to review candidates for the job of president of the College.

In 1968, responsibility for administering the College was transferred to the newly created District Board of Trustees, appointed by the governor. That body has continued to govern the College since that time.

The individuals who made up the original Advisory Committee and the first District Board of Trustees were Julian Alford, Murden M. Ashcroft, Ruth Chapman, Sam Cunningham, Leo L. Foster, Earl Lambert, Charlie Macon, John A. Madigan, Jack O. McMillan, John S. Pigott Jr., Aubrey Lee Porter, Harry G. Smith and J. Edwin White.

These men and women were instrumental in shaping what is today one of the most outstanding community colleges in the nation. Their dedication to task, belief in the importance of expanding educational opportunities and sheer perseverance in the face of such a monumental task make them more than worthy of this honor. We are pleased to induct these founders into the Tallahassee Community College Alumni & Friends Hall of Fame.