According to Florida Statute 943, Florida law requires correctional officers working for any state, county, or private institution to be certified. The Florida Public Safety Institute (FPSI) provides the 420 hours needed to become eligible to take the State Officers Certification Exam.
Steps to Apply
FPSI offers two types of courses: Correctional Probation Officer and Corrections Basic Recruit. Both programs typically serve students sponsored by their hiring agencies. To learn more contact Glenn Alston at (850) 201-7659 or Glenn.Alston@tcc.fl.edu.
Florida CMS Correctional Basic Recruit Training
This is a full time (420 hours) 12-week program that focuses on legal aspects, court systems, weapons, interpersonal communications skills, correctional operations, emergency preparedness, defensive tactics, first responder, and the state officer's certification examination review. Additionally, this program contains practical skills and field exercises including courtroom demeanor, testifying, report writing, collection and preservation of evidence, drug identification, radio communications, patrol techniques, firearms training, fingerprinting chemical agent exposure and first aid training.
Applicant must be 19 years of age, a citizen of the United States, have a high school diploma, or GED, not have had a dishonorable discharge from the Armed Services or any felony convictions. Applicant must take the Criminal Justice Basic Abilities Test (CJBAT) for Correctional officers and achieve passing score. See application for further requirements.
Although it is not required that you ara a Florida resident to attend the academy, you must be a citizen of the United States. Recruits from other states will be subject to out-of-state fees that are about three times the rate for in-state tuition. Contact the coordinator listed on the course announcement for exact amounts.
What are the requirements to attend the academy?
All basic recruit candidates must meet the minimum state qualifications for certification. They must pass a screening process including an oral interview, criminal history check, Florida Basic Abilities Test (FBAT/CJBAT) and other areas.
The academy entrance standards are established by Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) rules and Florida Statutes. Currently, only a high school diploma or GED is required to be accepted in a law enforcement or corrections academy training program.
How can I become a certified officer in Florida?
There are three basic steps to becoming a certified officer in Florida. First, complete the required training for the profession. Second, pass the State Officer Certification Exam (SOCE). Third, become employed as an officer.
What are the minimum qualifications necessary to become an officer?
We recommend you visit the Florida Department of Law Enforcement web site for complete information.
When are fees due?
Fees are due the first day of class.
Where can I stay if I need accommodations when I come to the Institute for training?
We offer on-site single occupancy housing for $26.00 per night. All rooms have color TV, wireless service, private restroom, refrigerator, and a lockable drawer for valuables. Please bring a padlock to secure your valuables in the drawer.
I have a misdemeanor arrest involving perjury or false statements. Can I be certified as a law enforcement, correctional or correctional probation officer in the State of Florida?
I have a prior felony arrest. Can I be certified as a law enforcement, correctional or correctional probation officer in the State of Florida?
If the felony charges are dismissed or noble pressed then issues regarding the person’s moral character are determined by the employing agency. The person is not barred by Statute from holding certification.
Does the academy have a job placement service?
No. However, the academy routinely invites representatives from agencies statewide to recruit from each class.
Do I need a college education to become a law enforcement officer, corrections officer or a correctional probation officer?
Although some agencies may require a college degree there are a greater number that only require a high school diploma or GED. A bachelor's degree is required for correctional probation officers.
Phone: (850) 201 – 7659
Florida Public Safety Institute
75 College Drive, Suite 203, Havana, FL 32333