TCC students win five awards at national Model UN conference

November 19, 2018

Tallahassee, Fla. (November 19, 2018) — Students from Tallahassee Community College’s Model United Nations team won five awards at the National Model United Nations conference in Washington, D.C., on November 9-11. The conference drew hundreds of students from around the world to discuss prominent issues in international relations.

TCC’s student team represented the U.N. delegations of Sweden and Nepal. Both delegations earned Honorable Delegation Awards for their overall team effort in representing and speaking for these nations in various U.N. committees. They were also recognized with three Position Paper Awards, which are based on the research and written policy positions submitted by students prior to the conference.

While in Washington, D.C., students had the chance to meet with political counselors at the Swedish embassy to discuss potential solutions to a wide range of international issues.

The student team was led by their president, Brendan Leverenz, and vice president, Ramlah Mahboob. Team members include Elijah Acevedo, Arianna Baltodano, Sidney Lyght, Samuel Goetz, Eduardo Acevedo, Max Culbreath, Dixie Johnston, Jeanie Morrison, Steven Vaughn Hennessey, Ariana Baltodano, Therese Gagliano, Taylor Mackin, Barbara Nidia Alvarez-Murrah and Colleen Beichner. Faculty advisers are Tom Waller and Richard Murgo.

For information, contact Tom Waller at (850) 201-8159 or