Meet the Staff

Learning Commons Full-Time Staff Bios

     

Dr. Nicholas Vick
Director
vickn@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8195 

Dr. Vick is the Director of the Learning Commons and the Honors Program. He has an Ed.D. in Educational Leadership from Sam Houston State University and over 10 years of experience leading academic support programs and learning centers in community colleges. Outside of work, he is a major tennis fan.    

   

Dr. Merry Beth Low
Program Coordinator
lowm@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8239

Merry is an avid soccer player. She also plays the guitar and keys, sings, and is obsessed with her two felines, Auby and Napoleon. Merry has a B.A. in International Relations and French, an M.A. in Religion, an M.A. in French Literature and Language, and a Ph.D. in French Literature and Language.

     

Tiayka Green
Office Manager
greenti@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8199

Tiayka is a native of Texas. She holds an Associate's degree from Tallahassee Community College and is currently completing a degree in Business Administration at Saint Leo University Online. In her downtime, Tiayka likes to spend time with her family and create memories with her kids. 

     

Vera Mayes
Math Specialist
mayesv@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8122

Vera has an Associates of Arts, Bachelors of Science (Business Administration), and a Masters of Arts (Mathematics). Vera has been in in education for many years, both teaching and tutoring. She loves helping students achieve the “aha” moment and have some fun with math. Vera likes to paint, make jewelry, and travel. She has a husband, two dogs, two cats, and ten chickens.

     

Noah Schmidt
Math Specialist
schmidtn@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7803

Noah graduated from Niceville High School in 1996, has two BS Degrees from FSU in Mathematics Education and Actuarial Science, and a MS Degree in Financial Mathematics. He likes to bowl, take walks, watch college football, and attend Bible Class. Noah was also a walk-on football player at Florida State University from 1996-1998. 

     

Dani Rowan Hawke
Math Specialist
hawked@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7804

Dani Rowan has been teaching/tutoring students for nearly 10 years. She has an A.A in Liberal Arts with Emphasis in Math and Science, a B.A. in Mathematics, and is currently working on her M.A. in Instructional Design & Technology. She has a fiancé, a teenage son, a dog, and a cat. She is also a published fantasy author, hardcore gamer, and a major fan of Star Wars and Final Fantasy. 

     

Chris McDonald
Science Specialist
mcdonach@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7805

Chris is a Tally Native, a Salsa and Latin Dancer, and enjoys running and trail biking. He is also an Adjunct Faculty at TCC, with a B.S. in Neurobiological Science from the University of Florida, and a M.S. in Medical Science with a concentration in Anatomy from USF.

     

Dr. Jerrie M. Del Vecchio
Humanities/Writing Specialist
delveccj@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7847

Dr. Del Vecchio has been with TCC since 2013 as a Learning Specialist in Communication. Previously, she was employed with FSU as an assistant researcher and teaching assistant while pursuing her doctorate in Interdisciplinary Humanities. Her research interests include but are not limited to: Women's Studies, History, Geography, and International Affairs. 

     

Greg Schaberg
Writing Specialist
schaberg@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8270

Greg has been assisting TCC students since 1998. He received his A.A. from Valencia College in Orlando, his B.A. in Spanish and Linguistics from FSU, and his Master’s in Multilingual/Multicultural Education from FSU. Before attending college, Greg worked as a costume character at Sea World, appearing as Baby Shamu and Pete Penguin – as well as several other adorable sea creatures. 

     

Alicia Casey
Writing Specialist
caseya@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7809

Alicia Casey is from Missouri. She has lived in Tallahassee for 10 years and has two children. Alicia is a published poet. She earned her B.A. in English at the University of Missouri-Columbia, her M.A. in English at Austin Peay State University, and her M.F.A. in Poetry at the University of Mississippi where she was a John and Renee Grisham fellow. 

     

Katie Toole
Writing Specialist
toolec@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-6651

Katie is a native of the Florida Panhandle. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and worked in Adult Education for 10 years before coming to the Learning Commons. She enjoys “old lady” hobbies like cross stitching and collecting dishes.

     

Shekitta Allen
Reading/Writing Specialist
allensh@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7813

Shekitta received her B.A. in English from Valdosta State University and continued with her education and received an M.A. in English, with a focus on 18th century Gothic Literature. She is a Communications Specialist in the Learning Commons, going on ten years. Shekitta also teaches classes at TCC and Flagler, TCC’s university partner. She enjoys anything Star Wars: Canon and/or Legends.

     

Jamie Smith
Reading/Writing Specialist
smithj@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7812

Jamie has been working at TCC for just over five years. Prior to working at TCC, she taught English in Oman for about 4 years and 1 year in Saudi Arabia. She also volunteers at the Leon County ESL Literacy Program. She served in the Women's Army Corps until it was disbanded in 1978, and she was integrated into the United States Army. She brags that she wore her Women’s Athena until she left the Army.

     

Jessie Clayton
Technology Specialist
claytonj@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8267

Jessie has a B.S. degree from Auburn University in Information Systems. He has worked at Tallahassee Community College over 17 years. Jessie holds orientations, tutors students, and works directly with IT Personnel in troubleshooting hardware and software computer issues. He ensures that technology is coordinated with the classrooms. Jessie is also a member of Association of Florida Colleges (AFC).

   

Sam DeZerga
Success Coach
dezergas@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7810

Sam has over six years of experience working with college students and helping them succeed through every step in their education. She loves the outdoors and plans to visit at least 50 Florida state parks over the next year. Sam is a 2x graduate of FSU, with a B.S. in Psychology and Humanities ('14) and a M.S. in Instructional Systems and Learning Technologies ('20).

Learning Commons Staff Awards Click here

 

Learning Commons Tutors & Coaches

Math

   

Sam Chandler
chandles@tcc.fl.edu

I-Ting Lee
leei@tcc.fl.edu

Mohammed Namadi
namadim@tcc.fl.edu 

     

Sergio Salinas
salinass@tcc.fl.edu 

Imani Eatman
eatmani@tcc.fl.edu

Skyler Lewis
lewiss@tcc.fl.edu 

     

 

Ammar Mahboob
mahbooba@tcc.fl.edu

 

Chase Davis
davisc@tcc.fl.edu

 

Justin Whittaker
whittakj@tcc.fl.edu

     

Kristie Beeman
beemank@tcc.fl.edu

   

Science

   

I-Ting Lee
leei@tcc.fl.edu

 

Sam Chandler
chandles@tcc.fl.edu

Kimberly Cummings
cummink@tcc.fl.edu

     

 

Sergio Salinas
salinass@tcc.fl.edu

 

Alia Green
greenal@tcc.fl.edu

 

Margaret Plummer
plummerm@tcc.fl.edu

     

 

Ben Kepple
keppleb@tcc.fl.edu

 

Skyler Lewis
lewiss@tcc.fl.edu

 

Kristie Beeman
beemank@tcc.fl.edu 

     

 

Ammar Mahboob
mahbooba@tcc.fl.edu

 

Chase Davis
davisc@tcc.fl.edu

 

Justin Whittaker
whittakj@tcc.fl.edu

     

Erika Boone
boonee@tcc.fl.edu

   

Spanish

   

Anthony Brandy
brandya@tcc.fl.edu 

Rosalia Haddix
haddirx@tcc.fl.edu

 

Reading/Writing

   

Stephanie Austin
austinst@tcc.fl.edu 

 

Anthony Brandy
brandya@tcc.fl.edu

Alice Cappa
cappaa@tcc.fl.edu

     

 

Josalin Hughes
hughesjo@tcc.fl.edu

Ann Ross
 rossa@tcc.fl.edu

 

Success Coaches

   

 

Ashley Rutledge
rutledga@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7819

 

Daniella Itzhak
itzhakd@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7845

 

Gabriella Gallardo
gallardg@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7816

     

 

Gabrielle Jackson
jacksong@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7818

 

Kristie Kirk
kirkk@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7844

 

Lauren Bradley
bradlela@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7814

     

 

Miguel Pumariega
pumarim@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7843

 

Reginald Daniels
danielsr@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7824

 

TBA
TBA
TBA

Additional Subjects

   

 

Stephanie Austin
austinst@tcc.fl.edu
Subject: Philosophy 

 

Kimberly Cummings
cummink@tcc.fl.edu
Subject: Psychology

 

Mohammed Namadi
namadim@tcc.fl.edu
Subject: Computer Programming

     

 

Imani Eatman
eatmani@tcc.fl.edu
Subject: Computer Programming

Alex Soto
sotoal@tcc.fl.edu
Subject: Accounting, Economics, Technology