Meet the Staff

Learning Commons Full-Time Staff Bios

     

   

Sam DeZerga (she/her/hers)
Interim Director & Success Coach
sam.dezerga@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7810

Sam has seven years of experience working with college students and helping them succeed through every step in their education - from admission to graduation. Sam is a two-time graduate of Florida State University, earning a B.S. in Psychology and Humanities and a M.S. in Instructional Systems and Learning Technologies. She loves the outdoors and always finds an opportunity to use her Florida State Parks annual pass. 

   

Dr. Merry Beth Low
Program Coordinator
merry.low@tcc.fl.edu 
(850) 201-8239

Merry is an avid soccer player. She also plays the guitar and keys, sings, and is obsessed with her two felines, Auby and Napoleon. Merry has a B.A. in International Relations and French, an M.A. in Religion, an M.A. in French Literature and Language, and a Ph.D. in French Literature and Language.

     

Tiayka Green
Office Manager
tiayka.green@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8199

Tiayka is a native of Texas. She holds an Associate's degree from Tallahassee Community College and is currently completing a degree in Business Administration at Saint Leo University Online. In her downtime, Tiayka likes to spend time with her family and create memories with her kids. 

     

Vera Mayes (she/her/hers)
Math Specialist
vera.mayes@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8122

Vera has an Associates of Arts, Bachelors of Science (Business Administration), and a Masters of Arts (Mathematics). Vera has been in in education for many years, both teaching and tutoring. She loves helping students achieve the “aha” moment and have some fun with math. Vera likes to paint, make jewelry, and travel. She has a husband, two dogs, two cats, and ten chickens.

     

Dani Rowan Hawke (they/them/theirs)
Math Specialist
danirowan.hawke@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7804

Dani Rowan has been teaching/tutoring students for nearly 10 years. They have an A.A in Liberal Arts with Emphasis in Math and Science, a B.A. in Mathematics, and are currently working on their M.A in Instructional Technology. They have a fiancé, a teenage son, a dog, and a cat. They are also a published fantasy author, hardcore gamer, and a major fan of Star Wars and Final Fantasy. 

     

Chris McDonald
Science Specialist
chris.mcdonald@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7805

Chris is a Tally Native, a Salsa and Latin Dancer, and enjoys running and trail biking. He is also an Adjunct Faculty at TCC, with a B.S. in Neurobiological Science from the University of Florida, and a M.S. in Medical Science with a concentration in Anatomy from USF.

     

Dr. Jerrie M. Del Vecchio
Humanities/Writing Specialist
jerrie.delvecchio@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7847

Dr. Del Vecchio has been with TCC since 2013 as a Learning Specialist in Communication. Previously, she was employed with FSU as an assistant researcher and teaching assistant while pursuing her doctorate in Interdisciplinary Humanities. Her research interests include but are not limited to: Women's Studies, History, Geography, and International Affairs. 

     

Greg Schaberg (he/him/his)
Writing Specialist
greg.schaberg@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8270

Greg has been assisting TCC students since 1998. He received his A.A. from Valencia College in Orlando, his B.A. in Spanish and Linguistics from FSU, and his Master’s in Multilingual/Multicultural Education from FSU. Before attending college, Greg worked as a costume character at Sea World, appearing as Baby Shamu and Pete Penguin – as well as several other adorable sea creatures. 

     

Alicia Casey (she/her/hers)
Writing Specialist
alicia.casey@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7809

Alicia Casey is from Missouri. She has lived in Tallahassee for 10 years and has two children. Alicia is a published poet. She earned her B.A. in English at the University of Missouri-Columbia, her M.A. in English at Austin Peay State University, and her M.F.A. in Poetry at the University of Mississippi where she was a John and Renee Grisham fellow. 

     

Katie Toole (she/her/hers)
Writing Specialist
catherine.toole@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-6651

Katie is a native of the Florida Panhandle. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and worked in Adult Education for 10 years before coming to the Learning Commons. She enjoys “old lady” hobbies like cross stitching and collecting dishes.

     

Shekitta Allen
Reading/Writing Specialist
shekitta.allen@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7813

Shekitta received her B.A. in English from Valdosta State University and continued with her education and received an M.A. in English, with a focus on 18th century Gothic Literature. She is a Communications Specialist in the Learning Commons, going on ten years. Shekitta also teaches classes at TCC and Flagler, TCC’s university partner. She enjoys anything Star Wars: Canon and/or Legends.

     

Jamie Smith
Reading/Writing Specialist
jamie.smith@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7812

Jamie has been working at TCC for just over five years. Prior to working at TCC, she taught English in Oman for about 4 years and 1 year in Saudi Arabia. She also volunteers at the Leon County ESL Literacy Program. She served in the Women's Army Corps until it was disbanded in 1978, and she was integrated into the United States Army. She brags that she wore her Women’s Athena until she left the Army.

     

Jessie Clayton
Technology Specialist
jessie.clayton@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8267

Jessie has a B.S. degree from Auburn University in Information Systems. He has worked at Tallahassee Community College over 17 years. Jessie holds orientations, tutors students, and works directly with IT Personnel in troubleshooting hardware and software computer issues. He ensures that technology is coordinated with the classrooms. Jessie is also a member of Association of Florida Colleges (AFC).

Learning Commons Staff Awards Click here

 

Learning Commons Tutors & Coaches

Math

   

LC tutor

Sam Chandler

sam.chandler@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

I-Ting Lee

iting.lee@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Sergio Salinas

sergio.salinas@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Ben Kepple
(he/him/his)
keppleb@tcc.fl.edu 

LC tutor

Kristie Beeman
(she/her/hers)
kristie.beeman@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Ammar Mahboob

ammar.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Justin Whittaker

justin.whittaker@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Mathew Danuff
(he/him/his)
mathew.danuff@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu

Science

   

LC tutor 

I-Ting Lee

iting.lee@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Sam Chandler

sam.chandler@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Sergio Salinas

sergio.salinas@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor 

Alia Green
(she/her/hers)
alia.green@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Margaret Plummer

margaret.plummer@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Ben Kepple
(he/him/his)
keppleb@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor 

Justin Whittaker

justin.whittaker@tcc.fl.edu

 LC tutor

Kristie Beeman
(she/her/hers)
kristie.beeman@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Ammar Mahboob

ammar.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu

     

 LC tutor

Annalise Mackemer

annalise.mackemer@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Josie Leblanc

josephine.leblanc@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Morgan Hale
(she/her/hers)
morgan.hale@tcc.fl.edu 

     

 LC tutor

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Arionne Keaton

arionne.keaton@tcc.fl.edu

 LC tutor, LC reception

Rimsha Mahboob

rimsha.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu 

Business

   

LC tutor 

Landon Sears

landon.sears@tcc.fl.edu 

 LC tutor

Camila Vassallo

camila.vassallo@tcc.fl.edu 

 
     

Spanish

   

LC tutor

Rosalia Haddix

rosalia.haddix@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Valentina Gutierrez

valentina.gutierrez@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu 

     

LC tutor

Danielle Pinto

danielle.pinto@tcc.fl.edu

 LC tutor

Camila Vassallo

camila.vassallo@tcc.fl.edu 

 

Reading/Writing

   

LC tutor

Stephanie Austin
(she/her/hers, they/them/theirs)
stephanie.austin@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Alice Cappa

alice.cappa@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Ann Ross
(she/her/hers)
ann.ross@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Jonathan Martin-Gilliam
(he/him/his)
jonathan.martingilliam@tcc.fl.edu

 

 

Additional Subjects

   

 LC tutor

Stephanie Austin
(she/her/hers, they/them/theirs)
stephanie.austin@tcc.fl.edu
Philosophy

 LC tutor

Mathew Danuff
(he/him/his)
mathew.danuff@tcc.fl.edu
Computer Programming

 
     

Success Coaches

   

LC AS Coach

Brandon Saridjo

Brandon.Saridjo@tcc.fl.edu
LB 218

LC AS Coach

Camille Turner-Bragdon

Camille.TurnerBragdon@tcc.fl.edu
LB 218B

LC AS Coach

Daniella Itzhak

Daniella.Itzhak@tcc.fl.edu
LB 214

     

LC AS Coach

Devin White

Devin.White@tcc.fl.edu
LC 260A

LC AS Coach

Grace Berg
(she/her/hers)
Grace.Berg@tcc.fl.edu
LB 217B

 LC AS Coach

Jorlyse Dickens
(she/her/hers)
Jorlyse.Dickens@tcc.fl.edu 
LC 260A

     

LC placeholder image

Keishann Corley

Keishann.Corley@tcc.fl.edu
LB 215

LC AS Coach

Kristie Kirk
(she/her/hers)
Kristie.Kirk@tcc.fl.edu
LB 218A

LC AS Coach

Mariah Seybold

Mariah.Seybold@tcc.fl.edu
LB 219

     

LC AS Coach

Mary Sweitzer

Mary.Sweitzer@tcc.fl.edu
LB 218

LC AS Coach

Miguel Pumariega

Miguel.Pumariega@tcc.fl.edu
LB 219

LC AS Coach

Morgan Williams

Morgan.Williams@tcc.fl.edu
LB 217C

     

LC AS Coach

Shelby Merlau
(she/her/hers)
Shelby.Merlau@tcc.fl.edu
LB 217A

 

 

Reception

   

LC reception

Alacia Murphy

LC reception

Caroline Sherlock

LC reception

Leyla Neymatova

     

LC reception

Morgan Morato

LC reception

Nathaniel Marcelin

LC reception 

Hiram Thomas

     

LC tutor, LC reception

Rimsha Mahboob

LC reception

Alejandra Krommenhoek

LC reception

Halle Gold

     

 LC reception

Jorge Rivera