Meet the Staff

Learning Commons Full-Time Staff Bios

     

Sam DeZerga (she/her/hers)
Director
sam.dezerga@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7810

Sam has nearly a decade of higher education experience helping students succeed at every step in their education – from admission to college to walking across the stage at graduation. Sam is a two-time graduate of Florida State University, earning a B.S. in Psychology and Humanities and a M.S. in Instructional Systems and Learning Technologies. Outside of work, Sam is a nature photographer, collector of vintage Pyrex, and a movie buff.

     

Dani Rowan Hawke (they/them/theirs)
Program Coordinator
danirowan.hawke@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7804

Dani Rowan has almost a decade in higher education of tutoring, teaching, and assisting students to become successful independent learners. They have a B.A. in Mathematics and an AFC College Professional certification. Their hobbies include playing D&D with their husband and teenage son, video games, and reading. They are also a published fantasy author.

     

Vera Mayes (she/her/hers)
Math Specialist
vera.mayes@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8122

Vera has an Associates of Arts, Bachelors of Science (Business Administration), and a Masters of Arts (Mathematics). Vera has been in in education for many years, both teaching and tutoring. She loves helping students achieve the “aha” moment and have some fun with math. Vera likes to paint, make jewelry, and travel. She has a husband, two dogs, two cats, and ten chickens.

     

Chris McDonald
Science Specialist
chris.mcdonald@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7805

Chris is a Tally Native, a Salsa and Latin Dancer, and enjoys running and trail biking. He is also an Adjunct Faculty at TCC, with a B.S. in Neurobiological Science from the University of Florida, and a M.S. in Medical Science with a concentration in Anatomy from USF.

     

Dr. Jerrie M. Del Vecchio
Humanities/Writing Specialist
jerrie.delvecchio@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7847

Dr. Del Vecchio has been with TCC since 2013 as a Learning Specialist in Communication. Previously, she was employed with FSU as an assistant researcher and teaching assistant while pursuing her doctorate in Interdisciplinary Humanities. Her research interests include but are not limited to: Women's Studies, History, Geography, and International Affairs.

     

Greg Schaberg (he/him/his)
Writing Specialist
greg.schaberg@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8270

Greg has been assisting TCC students since 1998. He received his A.A. from Valencia College in Orlando, his B.A. in Spanish and Linguistics from FSU, and his Master’s in Multilingual/Multicultural Education from FSU. Before attending college, Greg worked as a costume character at Sea World, appearing as Baby Shamu and Pete Penguin – as well as several other adorable sea creatures.

     

Alicia Casey (she/her/hers)
Writing Specialist
alicia.casey@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7809

Alicia Casey is from Missouri. She has lived in Tallahassee for 10 years and has two children. Alicia is a published poet. She earned her B.A. in English at the University of Missouri-Columbia, her M.A. in English at Austin Peay State University, and her M.F.A. in Poetry at the University of Mississippi where she was a John and Renee Grisham fellow.

     

Katie Toole (she/her/hers)
Writing Specialist
catherine.toole@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-6651

Katie is a native of the Florida Panhandle. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and worked in Adult Education for 10 years before coming to the Learning Commons. She enjoys “old lady” hobbies like cross stitching and collecting dishes.

     

Shekitta Allen
Reading/Writing Specialist
shekitta.allen@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7813

Shekitta received her B.A. in English from Valdosta State University and continued with her education and received an M.A. in English, with a focus on 18th century Gothic Literature. She is a Communications Specialist in the Learning Commons, going on ten years. Shekitta also teaches classes at TCC and Flagler, TCC’s university partner. She enjoys anything Star Wars: Canon and/or Legends.

     

Jamie Smith
Reading/Writing Specialist
jamie.smith@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-7812

Jamie has been working at TCC for just over five years. Prior to working at TCC, she taught English in Oman for about 4 years and 1 year in Saudi Arabia. She also volunteers at the Leon County ESL Literacy Program. She served in the Women's Army Corps until it was disbanded in 1978, and she was integrated into the United States Army. She brags that she wore her Women’s Athena until she left the Army.

     

Jessie Clayton
Technology Specialist
jessie.clayton@tcc.fl.edu
(850) 201-8267

Jessie has a B.S. degree from Auburn University in Information Systems. He has worked at Tallahassee Community College over 17 years. Jessie holds orientations, tutors students, and works directly with IT Personnel in troubleshooting hardware and software computer issues. He ensures that technology is coordinated with the classrooms. Jessie is also a member of Association of Florida Colleges (AFC).

Learning Commons Staff Awards Click here

 

Learning Commons Tutors & Coaches

Math

   

LC tutor

Sam Chandler

sam.chandler@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

I-Ting Lee

iting.lee@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Kristie Beeman
(she/her/hers)
kristie.beeman@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor, LC reception

Rimsha Mahboob

rimsha.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu  

LC tutor

Mathew Danuff
(he/him/his)
mathew.danuff@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Ammar Mahboob

ammar.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Ryan Carmichael

ryan.carmichael@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor, LC reception

Delana Sowell

delana.sowell@tcc.fl.edu 

     

LC tutor

Gabe Tanenbaum

gabe.tanenbaum@tcc.fl.edu 

LC tutor

Lizbeth Pulles

lizbeth.pulles@tcc.fl.edu

 

Science

   

LC tutor

I-Ting Lee

iting.lee@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Sam Chandler

sam.chandler@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Kristie Beeman
(she/her/hers)
kristie.beeman@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Alia Green
(she/her/hers)
alia.green@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Josie Leblanc

josephine.leblanc@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Annalise Mackemer

annalise.mackemer@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor, LC reception

Rimsha Mahboob

rimsha.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Ammar Mahboob

ammar.mahboob@tcc.fl.edu

     

Business

   

LC tutor

Mo Somji

mohamedhadi.somji@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Camila Vassallo

camila.vassallo@tcc.fl.edu

 

     

Spanish

   

LC tutor

Rosalia Haddix

rosalia.haddix@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Danielle Pinto

danielle.pinto@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor 

Elijah Toomey

elijah.toomey@tcc.fl.edu 

     

LC tutor

Camila Vassallo

camila.vassallo@tcc.fl.edu 

 

 

Reading/Writing

   

LC tutor

Stephanie Austin
(she/her/hers, they/them/theirs)
stephanie.austin@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Alice Cappa

alice.cappa@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Ann Ross
(she/her/hers)
ann.ross@tcc.fl.edu

     

LC tutor

Jonathan Martin-Gilliam
(he/him/his)
jonathan.martingilliam@tcc.fl.edu

LC tutor

Claire Smith

claire.smith@tcc.fl.edu

 

Additional Subjects

   

 LC tutor

Stephanie Austin
(she/her/hers, they/them/theirs)
stephanie.austin@tcc.fl.edu
Philosophy

 LC tutor

Mathew Danuff
(he/him/his)
mathew.danuff@tcc.fl.edu
Computer Programming

 
     

Success Coaches

   

LC AS Coach

Camille Turner-Bragdon

Camille.TurnerBragdon@tcc.fl.edu
LB 218B

LC AS Coach

Miguel Pumariega

Miguel.Pumariega@tcc.fl.edu
LB 219

LC AS Coach

Jorlyse Dickens
(she/her/hers)
Jorlyse.Dickens@tcc.fl.edu 
LC 260A

     

LC AS Coach

Devin White

Devin.White@tcc.fl.edu
LC 260A

LC AS Coach

Grace Berg
(she/her/hers)
Grace.Berg@tcc.fl.edu
LB 217B

 LC AS Coach 

Kyra McKinney

Kyra.McKinney@tcc.fl.edu
LB 217C

     

LC placeholder image

Jess Larson

Jessica.Larson@tcc.fl.edu
LB 

 LC placeholder image

Wilayshia Bradwell

Wilayshia.Bradwell@tcc.fl.edu
LB 

LC placeholder image 

Sandra Auguste

Sandra.Auguste@tcc.fl.edu
LB 

     

LC placeholder image 

Meredith Field

Meredith.Field@tcc.fl.edu
LB 

LC AS Coach 

Kristie Kirk

Krisitie.Kirk@tcc.fl.edu
LB 

 
     

 

 

 

Reception

   

LC reception

Alacia Murphy

LC reception

Jaidan Rumph

LC reception

Leyla Neymatova

     

LC reception

Morgan Morato

LC reception

Nathaniel Marcelin

LC reception 

Hiram Thomas

     

LC reception

Da'Jah Parker

LC reception

Alejandra Krommenhoek

LC reception

Halle Gold

     

 LC reception

Jorge Rivera

 LC tutor, LC reception

Delana Sowell