District Board of Trustees

The District Board of Trustees is the policy-making body for Tallahassee Community College. Trustees are appointed by the Governor and are confirmed by the Florida Senate.

Meeting Schedule

At each meeting, the business meeting begins at 2:30 p.m. followed by a board workshop. Unless noted otherwise, all District Board of Trustees meetings which take place on Tallahassee Community College's main campus are held in the Herb F. Morgan Room, located on the second floor of the Hinson Administration Building (directions).

  • September 19, 2022​ - Main Campus, Hinson Administration Building
  • ​October 17, 2022 - Main Campus, Hinson Administration Building
  • ​November 21, 2022 - Center for Innovation
  • ​December - No Meeting
  • ​TUESDAY - January 17, 2023 - Main Campus, Hinson Administration Building
  • February 20, 2023 - Ghazvini Center for Healthcare Education
  • ​March 20, 2023 - Florida Public Safety Institute 
  • ​April 17, 2023 - Center for Innovation 
  • ​May 15, 2023 - Wakulla Environmental Institute
  • ​TUESDAY - June 20, 2023 - Main Campus, Hinson Administration Building
  • July - No Meeting
Access the Board Meeting Portal Click Here

Meet Our Board Members

Eugene Lamb Jr., Chair

Trustee Lamb was re-appointed to the board in April 2019 by Governor Ron DeSantis for the remaining three years of his term. Lamb was originally appointed to the board in 2007 by Governor Charlie Crist and reappointed by Governor Rick Scott in 2012. He served as board chair in 2010-11 and again in 2013-14. Lamb was a teacher in the Leon County school district for 30 years. Also active in neighboring Gadsden County, he served on the Gadsden County Commission for eight years, chairing the Commission from 2008 to 2010. In 2015, Lamb was appointed by Governor Rick Scott to serve on the Florida Commission on Healthcare and Hospital Funding to investigate the role of taxpayer funding for hospitals, insurers and healthcare providers. He was appointed in 2014, and reappointed earlier this year, to serve as an at-large member of the board of directors of the Florida High School Athletic Association, which includes nearly 800 member high schools and middle schools across the state. Lamb represents Gadsden County.

   Jonathan Kilpatrick

Jonathan Kilpatrick, Vice Chair

Trustee Kilpatrick was appointed to the board in 2014 by Governor Rick Scott. Jonathan Kilpatrick is the founder and CEO of Trulight LLC which specializes in Technology Strategy, Regulatory Compliance and Cyber Security.  Jonathan was formerly the Chief Information Officer for the City of Tallahassee.  He has spent over 30 years of his career  leading innovative technology solutions.  Additionally, Jonathan is a Major in the Florida Air National Guard serving as a Cyber Systems Officer with 101 Air Communications Squadron at Tyndall Air Force Base.  He also serves as the pastor of First Baptist Church of St. Marks. Kilpatrick represents Wakulla County.

 Frank Messersmith

Frank Messersmith

Trustee Messersmith was appointed to the board by Governor Jeb Bush in 1999. He was reappointed to the board by Governor Charlie Crist in 2007 and Governor Rick Scott in 2012. A former legislator and member of the Florida Public Service Commission, Messersmith is currently a consultant specializing in legislative and regulatory matters. Messersmith represents Wakulla County.

Karen Moore

Karen B. Moore

Trustee Moore was re-appointed to the board in July 2019 by Governor Ron DeSantis for a four-year term. Moore was originally appointed to the board in 2007 by Governor Charlie Crist and reappointed in 2012 by Governor Rick Scott. She is the founder and chief executive officer of Moore, Inc., a national integrated communications firm. Moore served as board chair in 2009-10. She previously served as president of the TCC Foundation Board and chaired both of the College's capital campaigns, which secured over $23 million to support student scholarships and facilities upgrades. Moore is currently vice chair of the Florida College System Foundation, which provides scholarships for students attending Florida's 28 community and state colleges. Last year, she served as chair of the Association of Florida Colleges Trustees Commission and was recognized as Trustee of the Year by the Commission. TCC’s Richard W. & Karen B. Moore Veterans Success Center was named in honor of Moore and her husband, who are also founders of the Moore Veterans Leadership Academy, which helps veterans succeed in college and in the workforce. Moore represents Leon County.


Monte Stevens 

Trustee Stevens, appointed by Governor Ron DeSantis in August 2021, is a Partner at The Southern Group. Previously, he was Deputy Chief of Staff at the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation and worked in legislative affairs at the Agency for Healthcare Administration and the Department of Financial Services. Stevens was a member of two national champion debate teams at the University of Missouri-Kansas City where he earned his bachelor’s degree in political science before earning his master’s degree in speech communication from Kansas State University. 


Charlie Ward Jr.

Charlie Ward Jr. is a former professional basketball player and the current head coach of Florida State University Schools boys' basketball team. A Thomasville, Ga. native, Ward Jr. attended FSU, where he was a standout basketball and football player. After leading the FSU football team to the 1993 National Championship and winning the Heisman Trophy, Ward Jr. was selected by the New York Knicks in the first round of the 1994 NBA Draft. He went on to play 11 years in the league. Ward Jr. earned his bachelor’s degree from FSU. He and his wife, Tonja, reside in Tallahassee with their three children: Hope, Caleb and Joshua.